Future Generation Art Prize prolongs its application procedure till 20 May 2012Source: . Author: May 3rd, 2012

Prolonging the application procedure for the second edition of the biannual Future Generation Art Prize till May 20th offers the opportunity to all artists throughout the world to take part.

Applications available online at the competition’s website.

The Prize is open to all artists up to the age of 35 with the aim of acknowledging and giving long-term support to a future generation of artists. The Prize is unique because of its global reach and highly democratic form of application via the Internet.

The artists may apply with their work without any restrictions concerning gender, nationality, race or artistic medium. Participants must fill in all fields of the Application Form and upload a photo or video of three to seven of their artworks.

The Main Prize winner will receive a total of $100,000: $60,000 as a cash award, and $40,000 towards the production of a new work.  An additional $20,000 will be allocated to fund artist-in-residency programs for the Special Prize winner.

The International Jury will come to Kyiv to award the Main and Special Prize. They will announce the Prize winners during the FGAP Award Ceremony on December 7, 2012.

The International Jury for the Future Generation Art Prize 2012 includes:

  • Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev – Artistic director, Documenta 13 (Germany);
  • Agnaldo Farias  – Independent Curator and Director of the 29th biennial of Sao Paulo (Brasil);
  • Massimiliano Gioni– Associate Director of the New Museum and director of the 55th Venice Biennial in 2013 (USA);
  • Carol Yinghua Lu  – Art Critic and Independent Curator (China);
  • Hans Ulrich Obrist  – Co-director, Serpentine Gallery (United Kingdom);
  • Eckhard Schneider  – General Director, PinchukArtCentre (Ukraine);
  • Nancy Spector – Deputy Director and Chief Curator of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation (USA).

Each member of the Jury appointed a member of the Selection Committee who will choose 20 shortlisted artists.

The final shortlist will be announced in June 2012. Ukrainian artist Nikita Kadan, the winner of the national PinchukArtCentre Prize 2011, will be added to 20 shortlisted artists, bringing the total number of artists nominated for the Future Generation Art Prize 2012 to 21.

More than 50 international non-profit art organizations based in over than 38 countries support outreach to artists around the world as well as 100 correspondents engaging young artists under 35 from wherever they may live and work.

Damien Hirst, Jeff Koons, Andreas Gursky and Takashi Murakami are Mentor Artists for the Prize, providing advice and support for the winning artist.

A distinguished international Board oversees the Future Generation Art Prize. In addition to chairman Victor Pinchuk and the four Mentor Artists, the Board’s membership includes Eli Broad, Dakis Joannou, Elton John, Miuccia Prada and art museum directors Richard Armstrong (Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation and Museum), Glenn D. Lowry (The Museum of Modern Art),  Alfred Pacquement (Musée nationale d’art moderne, Centre Georges Pompidou) and Sir Nicholas Serota (Tate).

The winner of the 2010 Main Prize was Brazilian artist Cinthia Marcelle, whose work encompasses films, photographs and installations. Her work was also presented in a solo exhibition at the PinchukArtCentre from 29October 2011 to 8 January 2012.

Partner Platforms in 2012: futuregenerationartprize.org/partner-platforms